Top Social

Down Among the Sticks and Bones


Down Among the Sticks and Bones is a follow-up to Every Heart a Doorway, the first in the Wayward Children series by Seanan McGuire. Every Heart a Doorway takes place at Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children, a school for kids who have returned after visiting another world and it is as hauntingly beautiful as you could imagine. We learn in this book that there are two such homes in North America: one for kids who want to forget and one for kids who don't want to forget and most likely want to go back.

This book follows Jack and Jill - two sisters we met in the first book. They travel to a world that has many monsters but they wind up in an area under the rule of a vampire. One stays with him to one day become his daughter and the other goes to be an apprentice to a doctor. This story is about one girl who goes from a tomboy to a princess and another little girl who goes from wearing pretty dresses and never getting dirty to working with dead bodies. It's about growing and changing and finding your way home.

I can't recommend this series enough and I can't wait for more books to come out. The next one is Beneath the Sugar Sky and it due out January 2018, just in time for my birthday.

5/5 Stars
Be First to Post Comment !
Post a Comment

Klik the button below to show emoticons and the its code
Hide Emoticon
Show Emoticon